Hi, I'm Carol!

I'm a UniMelb student studying Arts.

$70

Per hour

H1

WAM

2019

Started uni
Carol
[[ONLINE TUTORING ONLY]] I'm a university media studies tutor, and an all-rounder when it comes to arts/humanities and political science subjects, writing, critical thinking, visual analysis, that sorta thing! I can only teach online as I'm still shielding from the pandemic, but I've had 5 years of experience tutoring one-on-one, small groups, and classroom settings at UoM and Monash. I'm looking to detach from teaching at uni since everything's going back to in person, and work independently. My teaching style is conversational, chill, encouraging, interactive, relevant to what's going on in the world, and tailored to your interests. My uni research interests are: social movements, political theory, media comms, cultural studies, art history My previous education: - University of Melbourne Bachelor of Arts - University of Melbourne Bachelor of Arts (Honours) - University of Oxford M.St. Art History and Visual Culture (High Distinction) - University of Melbourne PhD in Anthropology and Cultural Studies (dropped out but HD average) I can help with: - brainstorming ideas and helping you sharpen your essay arguments - critical analysis, thinking and becoming more politically conscious - getting more organised with study with other life commitments - written language help - flow of writing, grammar, expression etc. - spoken language help - pronunciation, conversational english, building confidence with sharing your ideas in class etc. - reading and comprehension - research methods for arts subjects - citation and referencing - advice with working as part of groups and challenging dynamics - advice and encouragement with failing, struggling to improve grades, lack of motivation - advice and encouragement with overwork, burn out, perfectionism - explaining certain australian/western cultural concepts and politics, academic expectations that are unspoken of, navigating university admin and social life If you have needs in a specific area that is not listed, please feel free to ask if it is something I can help with. If you have learning disability and needs I am also happy to do what works for you. If you are not able to afford my fees due to personal financial circumstances we can talk about a rate that works for both of us.

Languages

Mandarin Chinese


References