1 year ago

11 August, 2016

Lend Lease Darling Quarter Theatre

Organised by:

The Company & Cast of Backstage UTS are thrilled to present Hairspray; an entertaining evening of toe twisting, finger wagging and hip thrusting live music & dance.

To your delight, the show follows the pleasantly plump Baltimore teen Tracy Turnblad as she uses her explosive dance-moves to rocket into 1960s, televised stardom. From these great heights, our girl begins to see the historical segregation that split the US in two – but what will Tracy do?

“Better than any movie I could ever make” – Zac Efron

"These were simpler times, more roast hams and less halal snack packs. Bring back the 60s." - Jacqui Lambie

“Needs more cowbell” – Christopher Walken

“This show tastes like a chocolate malt, sounds like a classic record and feels like catching a glimpse of my own reflection in a shop window – absolutely vogue.” - Jake, director

“Both creative and innovative” – BCII Crowd

The Lend Lease Darling Quarter Theatre is Wheelchair accessible. If you have any accessibility requirements simply purchase your ticket and contact Backstage UTS at utsbackstage@gmail.com with your name, booking reference number and how many audiences members you are attending with so arrangements can be made.

The cast & crew of Hairspray is a diverse collection of more than 60 generous and talented young people. Pulled from all walks of life, audiences will be thrilled by the unique medley of performers and expertise....

Directed by Jake Bayssari
Produced by Polina Pashkov
Co Musical Director: Riley McCullagh
Co Musical Director: Jessica Blunt
Public Relations: Dominica Ingui
Choreographer: Rebecca Savage
Head of Costume Dept: Mikaela Rundle
Set Design: Hugh Austin
Graphic Design: Evie Hilliar
Lighting Designer: Nick Madunic
Stage Manager: Kevin Millingham

Tracy Turnblad: Abigail Dixon
Link Larkin: Jonathan Lagudi
Penny Pingleton: Alissa Del Vecchio
Seaweed: Joseph Magawa
Amber Von Tussle: Rielly Jane Dickson
Velma Von Tussle: Aimee Timmins
Edna Turnblad: Rob Hartley
Corny Collins: Thomas Crotty
Motormouth Maybelle: Zothile Abu-Basutu
Wilbur Turnblad: Oscar Wills
Little Inez: Palesa Kaonga
Dynamites: Ebube Uba, Abeba James, Emma Gibbons
Prudy Pingleton: Eliza Pall
Female Authority Figure: Elizabeth Tilden
Male Authority Figure: Justin Westlake

Council Members: Joshua Botto, Alya Higgins, Madeline Johnston, Lily O’Harte, Isaac Peiris, Ailis Relihan, Oliver Roach, Dirk Strachan-Thornton

Motormouth Ensemble: Swahnnya De Almeida, Grace Bonds, Sarah Kalule, Joshua Karras

General Ensemble: Lucy Chen, Sophie Hawkshaw, Sophie Matthews, Jessie Quinn, Madeleine Shelest, Shae Watkins

Featured Dancers: Alison Abdullah, Siobhan McCullagh, Cheryl Pieres


Introducing, The Band:

Neta Arad - Woodwind and Orchestral Supervisor
Austin Hall - Drums
Oliver Cameron - Piano
Loraine Plzak - Violin
Kai Faulkner - Trombone
Brittaney Banks - Woodwind
Rika Kelso - Clarinet
Annabel Vici - Cello
Rory Lucas - Bass
Ella Limbert - Flute
Nicolas Thompson - Trumpet
Lucy Dalton - Guitar


Hairspray’s book is by Mark O’Donnell and Thomas Meehan. Music by Marc Shaiman. Lyrics by Scott Wittman and Marc Shaiman. Based on the New Line Cinema film written and directed by John Waters. Orchestrations by Harold Wheeler and arrangements by Marc Shaiman. By Arrangement with Hal Leonard Australia Pty Ltd, Exclusive agent for music Theatre International (NY).