2 years ago

28 October, 2015

Grand Buffet Hall, Union House

Organised by:
FLW Theatre

2015 Union House Theatre Awards Night

Wednesday 28th October
6:30pm for a 7pm start
Venue: Grand Buffet Hall, Mezzanine level, Union House
Dress: Red Carpet

Come and join us in your red carpet best (think Tonys or if you really want to go all out, Logies) as we celebrate a fabulous year in student theatre.
One Click Photobooth (www.oneclickphotobooth.com) will be open from 6:30pm and Ben Fon (http://fon.com.au) will be our photographer for the evening so make sure you rock up in time for a sneaky pre-drink and photo op.
Complete with live excerpts from this year’s shows, Awards Night is student theatre’s night of nights not to be missed!

Cost: Free! Bookings essential
Book online at http://chook.as/uht/awards15 to receive a free drink voucher on arrival
Seating will be general admission

After party from 9:30pm at The Clyde Hotel


And the nominees are…

Louise Homfrey Trust Prizes: x2 $100 book vouchers for Outstanding Performances

Adelaide Greig – The Dark Room, Athens Reborn
Sam Hawthorne – Partial Recall: Med Revue 2015
Bonnie Leigh Dodds – The Roar
Shiwan Liu – The Pillowman
Ryan Stewart – The Dark Room, Terrorism
Elle Richards – Spamalot, A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum
Sen Ren – Veronica’s Room
Patricia Pan – Veronica’s Room

Performance Training Scholarships: x4 $500 each for Outstanding Performances from the Melbourne University Theatre Board

Scout Boxall – The Roar, Joseph K, Antony and Cleopatra
Genevieve Cassin – Antony and Cleopatra, The Taming of the Shrew
Danielle Carey-Philia – The Wild Party, A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum
Sarah Fitzgerald – The Roar, Antony and Cleopatra
Grace Haslinghouse – Thoroughly Modern Millie
Martin Hoggart – The Dark Room, The Nun and the Highwayman
Shan Lu – Veronica’s Room, The Hostages
Alice Marks – The Book of Everything, Joseph K, The Inevitable Death of Cassie Summers
Erin Nicolson – The Book of Everything, Spamalot
Seren Oroszvary – Athens Reborn
Jack Richardson – Antony and Cleopatra, Spamalot, Waiting for Godot
Jeremy Russo – A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum
Bec Szoka – Cabaret, Female of the Species
Shona Warren – Kissing Booth, Relationshit

MTC Awards: 4x Subscription Packages to 3 plays at the MTC in 2016 for Excellence Off Stage

Airlie Brett – Thoroughly Modern Millie, Costume Designer
Nicholas Felstead – Spamalot, Producer
Paula Grover Johnson – Joseph K, Set Designer
Marley Hollaway Clarke – Cabaret, Stage Manager; Female of the Species, Stage Manager
Sara Kissel – The Dark Room, Stage Manager
Gabby Lewis – The Dark Room, Set Designer; The Nun and the Highwayman, Costume/Set/Props Designer; Taming of the Shrew, Set Designer
Tessa Lim – Cabaret, Sound Manager
Bella Mackey – Antony and Cleopatra, Sound Operator; The Nun and the Highwayman, Stage Manager; The Roar, Stage Manager;
Ayu Maylinda – Athens Reborn, Makeup/Hair Designer; Taming of the Shrew, Stage Manager; Dogshrine, Stage Manager
Pat Miller – Cabaret, Musical Director/Composer
Sian Morrison – The Book of Everything, Producer; Spamalot, Stage Manager
Brittany Nugent – Wedding Singer, Choreographer
Finley Roberts – Thoroughly Modern Millie, Producer, A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum, Assistant Producer
Dominic Weintraub – Kissing Booth, Director, Relationshit, Director/Producer
Claire White – Thoroughly Modern Millie, Assistant Stage Manager; A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum, Publicity Manager

Professional Development Awards: x2 $500 to undertake industry professional development (non-performance) from the Melbourne University Theatre Board

Matilda Houlihan – The Taming of the Shrew, Producer; Athens Reborn, Producer, Waiting for Godot, Production Manager
Lizzie Howells – Thoroughly Modern Millie, Front of House Manager; A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum, Producer; UMMTA Explorations, Production Manager
Bridget Lea – Female of the Species, Set Designer/Construction; The Book of Everything, Set Construction
Rachel Liao – The Hostages, Producer; Veronica’s Room, Producer
Sarah Pemberton – Antony and Cleopatra, Stage Manager; The Roar, Lighting Operator
Sunday Sommerfield – Athens Reborn Production Manager/Stage Manager, Taming of the Shrew, Production Manager
Christian Sullivan – The Book of Everything, Assistant Director; Antony and Cleopatra, Publicity and Sponsorship; Spamalot, Director
Jacob Wang – The Pillowman, Stage Manager; The Hostages, Cast

Murray Sutherland Prizes: x2 $500 for Outstanding Participating in a Production

Nominated by UHT Awards Committee:
Liam Bellman-Sharpe – Taming of the Shrew, Cast; Echo – Composer; Dogshrine, Creative Producer/Vocal Coach; Antony and Cleopatra, Director
Taylen Furness – Thoroughly Modern Millie, Musical Director; A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum Co-Musical Director; Lay Down Sally, Co-Writer/Cast
Oscar Shaw – The Book of Everything, Director; Joseph K, Director; Taming of the Shrew, Cast
Jean Tong – The Lieutenant of Inishmore, Stage Manager, Terrorism, Writer; The Dark Room, Co-Production Manager
Jai Leeworthy – Antony and Cleopatra, Design; Dogshrine, Creator; The Roar, Lighting Designer

Awarded by Queen’s College:
Alexandre Guerin – The Book of Everything, Publicity; Spamalot, Production Manager; Terrorism, Production Manager; Sparkle Tits and Glitter Nips, Production Manager; The Nun and the Highwayman, Production Manager; The Inevitable Death of Cassie Summers, Production Manager; Antony and Cleopatra, Production Manager

Script Writing Awards: x2 $500 professional dramaturg fee for Outstanding New Work from the Melbourne University Theatre Board

Scout Boxall, Jess Gonsalvez, Rebecca Poynton, Sarah Fitzgerald, Bonnie Leigh-Dodds, Charlotte Salusinszky and Kathryn White – The Roar
Taylen Furness, Spencer Hadlow and Andrew White – Lay Down Sally: An Oarsome New Musical Robbin’ Hearts Around the World
Kim Ho – Athens Reborn
Jean Tong – Terrorism
Phoebe Witts – Relationshit

Outstanding Production of a Musical or Musical Performance ($1,000 cash from Melbourne University Theatre Board)

Avenue Q
A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum
Thoroughly Modern Millie

Outstanding Production of a Play or Devised Performance ($1,000 cash from Melbourne University Theatre Board)

The Book of Everything
The Dark Room
Female of the Species
The Roar
Veronica’s Room

MKA Resident Writer (University of Melbourne) Award: MKA mentorship and secondment for an Emerging Playwright
By Application

Hannah Barry Memorial Award: $1000 awarded for Artistic Merit to provide an opportunity to undertake a new creative work
By Application

La Mama Emerging Producer/Arts Manager Award: Placement and mentorship at La Mama and a subscription to the La Mama 2016 season
By Application

Robert McDonald MTC Professional Development Award: Five week secondment to the MTC and a double subscription package to the MTC 2016 season
By Application

Woman in Leadership Award: $500 to undertake professional development from the UMSU Creative Arts Department Award
To be announced on the night!