Hi, I'm Matt!

I'm a Griffith student studying Law.

$75

Per hour

6.47

GPA

2014

Started uni
Matt
I am currently dedicated as a full-time "all-purpose" tutor, educational coach, and career & industry mentor for tertiary and secondary students.

As an alumnus of Griffith, I plan to undertake further post-graduate studies in 2019 while also giving back and assisting undergraduate students succeed in their learning journeys. An interesting fact about me is that I'm a fully qualified and admitted lawyer in the Supreme Court of Queensland and practised law for a number of years in a top-tier international firm (specialising in property law).

I've always been a dedicated learner and was so influenced by those truly inspiring teachers and mentors through school and university that I have been driven to use all my valuable experience and wisdom to more deeply benefit those in our community, especially Griffith University, and help realise their potential. I did this by taking up the teaching mantle and becoming the founder of StarSeed Tutoring.

I am officially a member of the Australian Tutoring Association and a Specialist Accredited Tutor in the following subjects:
- English
- Law
- Commerce / Business
- Economics
- Legal Studies

I have been involved with tutoring and mentoring programs intermittently for 6 years in various settings – tutoring small and large groups in peer-assisted study sessions (PASS) at Griffith, private individual tutoring, and teaching in home settings.

My years of academic excellence were recognised when I was offered exclusive membership in the Griffith Honours College and Golden Key International Honour Society.

For university students specifically, I am able to provide comprehensive study notes and materials from subjects undertaken in my Law and Commerce (Economics) degrees and I also give extra assistance in helping prepare, review and proofread various assessment items.

I am flexible in the tutoring location, including:
- at university / other public space (e.g. a library or community centre);
- at the student's own home;
- at my home (in Greenbank); or
- online (via Skype or Google Hangouts).

My standard rate is for tutoring at university, so rates vary depending on what option is most suitable for the student. I give discounts for coming to my home ($65/hr), online ($55/hr) or even in group sessions with 2+ ($45/hr).

In my spare time, I have a deep passion for:
- travelling and immersing myself in all kinds of cultural experiences;
- swimming;
- jogging;
- mountain hiking and nature walks;
- ethnobotany and permaculture herbal gardening;
- learning a new language (Spanish); and
- personal studies and writing in philosophy, the ancient wisdom and esoteric traditions, world mythologies and folklore, and consciousness studies.

Languages

English, German (Beginner), Spanish (Beginner)


References