Semester 1, 2015

Australian Public Law

29 pages

11,730 words




Contains detailed notes divided in three sections based on separation of powers: Legislature, Executive and Judiciary.

Legislature section contains summaries of cases concerning parliamentary privileges and immunities, electoral systems, the right to vote, double dissolution and manner and form provisions.
Executive contains summaries of cases dealing with prerogative powers, appropriations and spending powers, nationhood power, and capacities of the Crown as a legal person.
Judiciary section contains notes on Ch III, including indicia of judicial power, justiciability, persona designata, Kable doctrine and institutional integrity of state courts.