1 year ago

When:
6 March, 2017

Location:
Monash Law Students' Society

Organised by:
Monash Law Students' Society


APPLICATIONS NOW OPEN - APPLY HERE:
http://www.monashlss.com/just-leadership-program
APPLICATIONS CLOSE: Friday 24 March at 6pm

----------

Following the success of the Program last year, both undergraduate and postgraduate Monash law students are invited to apply. The prestigious Program consists of seminars on social justice issues, which operate in a Q&A format.

The Program will run on a different timeline to previous years, as seminars will be spread across Semesters 1 and 2. The dates and topics of these seminars are as follows:

1. Introductory Seminar: Careers in Social Justice (Thursday 27th April, 6:00-9:00pm)
2. Children’s & Youth Law (Tuesday 2nd May, 6:30-8:30pm)
3. Women & the Law (Tuesday 9th May, 6:30-8:30pm)
4. Indigenous Access to Justice (Tuesday 16th May, 6:30-8:30pm)
5. Environmental Law & Justice (Tuesday 1st August, 6:30-8:30pm)
6. Animal Law & Justice (Thursday 10th August, 6:30-8:30pm)
7. Homelessness & Poverty (Tuesday 15th August, 6:30-8:30pm)
8. Asylum Seekers’ Rights (Tuesday 22nd August, 6:30-8:30pm)
9. LGBTIQ+ Rights & the Law (Tuesday 29th August, 6:30-8:30pm)
10. Disability & Mental Health (Tuesday 5th September, 6:30-8:30pm)

The venue of the seminars is to be confirmed, but will most likely be the Monash Law Chambers in the Melbourne CBD. The Program will also culminate in a Graduation ceremony.

Participants of the Program are also allocated into small groups to undertake a group project in relation to one of the seminar topics, allowing participants to contribute their leadership skills and demonstrate their commitment to and passion for a particular area of social justice.

For more information about the program and to submit an application, please visit http://www.monashlss.com/just-leadership-program. Please get in touch with Jayson and Caresse via email at justleadership@monashlss.com if you have any questions.